Optical Aberrations and Wavefront


  • Nihat Polat
  • Esra Yelkenci Aydin
  • Ibrahim Tuncer

Received Date: 24.01.2013 Accepted Date: 06.01.2014 Turk J Ophthalmol 2014;44(4):306-311

The deviation of light to create normal retinal image in the optical system is called aberration. Aberrations are divided two subgroup: low-order aberrations (defocus: spherical and cylindrical refractive errors) and high-order aberrations (coma, spherical, trefoil, tetrafoil, quadrifoil, pentafoil, secondary astigmatism). Aberrations increase with aging. Spherical aberrations are compensated by positive corneal and negative lenticular spherical aberrations in youth. Total aberrations are elevated by positive corneal and positive lenticular spherical aberrations in elderly. In this study, we aimed to analyze the basic terms regarding optic aberrations which have gained significance recently.

Keywords: Aberration, wavefront, refractive surgery

Full Text (Turkish)